

# **2024 NCJ Nomination Report**

# Nominations to General Boards and Agencies

<u>General Council on Finance and Administration</u> – elected at General Conference Bill Brownson – West Ohio Danita Anderson – Northern Illinois

<u>Connectional Table</u> Anish Hermon – Illinois Great Rivers (2024)

<u>General Board of Church and Society</u> Martha Banks – East Ohio (2024) Emily Kvalheim – West Ohio (2024) Robin Kelby – Wisconsin (2024)

<u>General Board of Discipleship</u> Kim Arnott – Indiana (2024)

<u>General Board of Global Ministries</u> Michael Davis – Indiana (2024) Katie Dawson – Iowa (2024) Beverly "Nichea" VerVeer Guy (2024)

<u>General Board of Higher Education and Ministry</u> Chiyona Bourne – Indiana (2024)

<u>General Board of Pensions and Health Benefits</u> Irene DeMaris – Iowa (2024) Andrew Nimely – West Ohio (2024)

<u>The United Methodist Publishing House</u> Sarah Nelson – Dakotas (2024) Sydney Pappas – Illinois Great Rivers (2024) <u>General Commission on Communications</u> Mark Doyal – Michigan (2024)

<u>General Commission on Religion and Race</u> Walker Brault – Minnesota (2024) Alka Lyall – Northern Illinois (2024)

<u>General Commission on the Status and Role of Women</u> Dianne Tobey Covault – East Ohio (2024)

Advisory Committee on Ecumenical and Interreligious Relationships Matthew Laferty – East Ohio (2024) Alejandro Alfaro-Santiz – Iowa (2024)

# **Jurisdictional Committees**

<u>Committee on Appeals:</u> Nominated by the College of Bishops in accordance with provisions of The 2016 Book of Discipline, paragraph 2716.

#### **Clergy:**

Beverly Wilkes-Null – Illinois Great Rivers Edwin Vargas – Wisconsin Dee Stickley-Miner – West Ohio Cindy Patterson – East Ohio Clergy Alternates: Joy Barrett – Michigan Donna Van Trees – East Ohio Chris Winkler – Northern Illinois Penny Eberhart – Dakotas Laity: Liz Gracie – Northern Illinois (2024) Tim Ottmar – Dakotas

Carolyn Johnson – Indiana

#### Laity, Alternates:

**Donald Cramer** – Wisconsin (**2024**) Lisa Batten – Michigan

Walker Brault - Minnesota

#### **Local Pastor:**

Gary Taylor – Minnesota

**Local Pastor Alternate:** 

Michael Beasley, Indiana (2024)

<u>Committee on Investigation:</u> Nominated by the College of Bishops in accordance with provisions of The 2016 Book of Discipline, paragraph 2703.1.

#### **Clergy:**

Melanie Carey – Michigan Cindy Gregorson – Minnesota James Roberson – East Ohio Arlene Christopherson – Northern Illinois Karen Dungan – Iowa Curnell Graham – West Ohio Randy Robinson – Illinois Great Rivers **Clergy Alternates** Cindy Reynolds – Indiana **Erin Fitzgerald – Michigan (2024) Park Hunter – Wisconsin (2024)** Rebecca Trefz – Dakotas Nicole Cox – Illinois Great Rivers **Laity Observers** 

> Phil Moots – West Ohio Patty LaGree – Iowa

#### Laity, Alternate

Alberto Hidalgo - Indiana

<u>Committee on Episcopacy:</u> One lay person and one clergy person from each Episcopal area nominated by annual conference delegation to jurisdictional conference in accordance with provisions of The 2016 Book of Discipline, paragraph 512.

#### **Clergy:**

Sarah Nelson – Dakotas Andy Call – East Ohio Sara Isbell – Illinois Great Rivers Aleze Fulbright – Indiana Barrie Tritle – Iowa Paul Perez – Michigan Carol Zaagsma – Minnesota Brian Gilbert – Northern Illinois Wade Giffin – West Ohio Jennifer Arneson – Wisconsin

#### Laity:

Beata Ferris – Dakotas Susan Achberger – East Ohio Anish Herman – Illinois Great Rivers Chris Hancock – Indiana Erica Shannon-Steuve – Iowa Laura Witkowski – Michigan (2024) Becky Boland – Minnesota (2024) Ronnie Lyall – Northern Illinois (2024) George Howard – West Ohio Lisa Jones - Wisconsin <u>NCJ Treasurer:</u> Nominated by the Committee on Nominations in consultation with the NCJ College of Bishops and Annual Conference Treasurers.

Sarah Sneider, Wis (2024)

<u>NCJ Secretary:</u> Nominated by the Committee on Nominations in consultation with the NCJ College of Bishops.

Diane Brown – Michigan

<u>Administrative Review Committee:</u> Nominated by the Committee on Nominations in consultation with the NCJ College of Bishops, three persons not members of the NCJ Committee on Episcopacy

Brian Oliver, Iowa (2024) Dana Neuhauser, Minn (2024)

Eugene Williams, NIII (2024)

**NCJ Mission Council:** One person elected by each annual conference within the jurisdiction, 7-10 members-at-large nominated by the jurisdictional Committee on Nominations at their discretion, 2 Directors of Connectional Ministries as selected by the NCJ Association of DCMs, 1 bishop selected by the College of Bishops, NCJ Treasurer, NCJ Conference Secretary, NCJ Coordinator of Communications as selected by the NCJ Mission Council Executive Committee.

**Conference Elected:** 

Beata Ferris – Dakotas (2018) Kelly Brown – East Ohio (2022) Eric Swanson – Illinois Great Rivers (2022) In Suk Peebles – Indiana (2022) **Angela Hansen Abbas – Iowa (2024)** Gordon Grigg – Michigan (2022) Walker Brault – Minnesota (2022) **Fabiola Grandon-Mayer – Northern Illinois (2024)** TBD – West Ohio Jessica Gobel – Wisconsin (2024)

**At-Large:** 

Andrea Hult – Dakotas (2022) Paige Boyer – East Ohio (2022) Erik Slingerland – Illinois Great Rivers (2024) Nathan Lundy – Indiana (2022) LaTonya Calderon – Iowa (2024) Kaitlyn Szczypka – Michigan (2024) Hannah Choi – Minnesota (2024) Rita L. Smith – Northern Illinois (2022) Amy Aspey – West Ohio (2024) Peace Kim – Wisconsin (2024)

#### Directors of Connectional Ministries: Named by NCJ DCMS Curtis Brown Karen Cook (2024)

#### College of Bishops Representative: Named by NCJ College of Bishops Bishop Dan Schwerin (2024)

# NCJ Coordinator of Communications: Jim Searls

NCJ Treasurer: Sarah Sneider (Wisconsin) (2024)

NCJ Secretary: Diane Brown (Michigan) (2022)

**NCJ Committee on Ordained Ministry:** The committee shall be comprised of the chair of the conference boards of ordained ministry or their representatives, the deans/presidents of the United Methodist seminaries in the jurisdiction, two representatives from the College of Bishops and four members at large, named by the committee to ensure inclusivity with at least two of those being ordained deacons. (as described in 2016 BOD paragraph 535, modified by NCJ 2022)

#### Bishop David Bard (2024) Bishop Dan Schwerin (2024)

Jonathan Priebe -- East Ohio, Chair Suzanne Allen -- West Ohio, Vice-Chair Barry Petrucci -- Michigan, Secretary

## **Ex-officio members (Chairs of Conference Board of Ordained Ministry)**

Brandon Vetter -- Dakotas Terri Horn -- Minnesota Krysta Deede -- Wisconsin Jodi Rushing -- Iowa Grant Armstrong – Illinois Great Rivers Mark Meyers -- Northern Illinois Amber Karkosky-Litten -- Indiana Jonathan Priebe -- East Ohio Suzanne Allen -- West Ohio Barry Petrucci -- Michigan

# **Ex-officio members (Presidents of UM Seminaries within the Jurisdictional bounds)**

Kent Millard, United Theological Seminary Jay Rundell, Methodist Theological School of Ohio Javier Viera, Garrett Evangelical Theological Seminary

## **At-Large Members:**

Meg Lassiat, Deacon -- Indiana April Casperson, Deacon -- West Ohio Sharon Appling -- Michigan Paul Hahm -- Michigan